St. Louis officials set aside land for the city’s first courthouse.
1828: Construction of the original courthouse, a small brick structure, is completed.
Visit / Points of Interest /
The Old Courthouse in Downtown St. Louis, part of Gateway Arch National Park, was built between 1839 and 1862. Some of the most pivotal court cases in American history were heard inside its courtrooms. It is where Dred and Harriet Scott sued for freedom, Virginia Minor fought for her right as a woman to vote, and more than 300 enslaved African Americans filed suit for their freedom.

Through a longstanding partnership with the National Park Service and the generous support of Gateway Arch Park Foundation's philanthropic donors, the Old Courthouse has undergone extensive renovations to introduce brand-new exhibits, update critical structural elements, and enhance overall accessibility, ensuring this historic building will remain vibrant for future generations.
This was only the second significant renovation to the Old Courthouse since it was built.
The renovations included the installation of an elevator for greater accessibility inside the building, in conjunction with new accessible ramps that were previously installed at both entrances to the outside of the building during phase one of the CityArchRiver renovations. Structural updates, which revitalize and maintain the building’s integrity, included a new heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system; renovated ceilings and flooring; a new fire suppression system; and general restoration and improvements.
The renovations also included a complete reimagining of the exhibits inside the building. New and updated exhibit galleries are designed by Haley Sharpe Design in conjunction with Gateway Arch National Park staff.